Grandmothers and Gluten Free

I visited a friend on the weekend and she spoke with a twinge of sadness about her 5 year old granddaughter. My friend’s  granddaughter has coeliac disease and she had gone to great lengths to tell her grandmother how she couldn’t eat her favourite chocolate anymore because it has gluten in it.  While all the other children at the family gathering were eating chocolate, this little girl had her packet of fruit gums.

grandmaYou see, my friend is under the impression that the only items that are gluten free are the ones in the gluten free section of the supermarket.  As I told her, there are many items that are gluten free, it is just that they are hidden in the ‘normal’ part of the supermarket.

So grandmas, you can still spoil your grandchildren and have a box full of gluten free treats  without too much fuss. And the bonus is that  all your grandchildren will enjoy them.

However there are a few simply rules you need to follow:

1.  Any product identifying wheat, rye, barley, malt, oats or gluten is not allowed.

2. Any product with a statement “may contain gluten, may contain wheat” is also not allowed.

3. Exceptions... these are ok…. glucose or glucose syrup from wheat, caramel colour (150) from wheat, dextrose from wheat.

4.  Many items are gluten free by ingredient. If there is no mention of wheat, rye, barley, malt, oats or gluten on the label, then this item is ok.

Try  

Select (Woolworths brand) Jungle Buddie   (found in the lolly/chocolate section)

chocolate

Jelly

Pandaroo Fruit Jelly Mini Cups found in the International Food section of the supermarket in amongst the curries.

What about, Go Natural Frugo’s which are found in the Gluten Free section of the supermarket

frugos

And Scooby Doo can put a smile on everyone’s face .. chocolate crackles  (will let you know where to find them when I remember) or fruit bites (located in the Snack/Muesli Bar section of Coles and Woolworths)

scooby doo

scooby

On another matter, Cadbury has recently changed labelling on their products with many products now stating : May contain gluten/wheat.  With this in mind, check the labelling of any Cadbury product you buy in future.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s